ALL Sports




The Western New York Flash selected California and U.S. national team forward Alex Morgan the top overall pick in the Women’s Professional Soccer draft.

Philadelphia Independence, last year’s runner-up in the WPS Championship, took local Havertown, PA-product and all-ACC midfielder from Virginia, Sinead Farrelly with the second overall selection. MAC Hermann trophy-winner Christen Press of Stanford went fourth, after North Carolina midfielder Meghan Klingenberg was selected third by the Washington Freedom.

Washington took Stanford forward Christen Press with the fourth pick and Notre Dame forward Lauren Fowlkes went to Philadelphia at No. 5.

Notre Dame, UCLA, Virginia, Portland, Oklahoma and Wake Forest each had two players selected among the 24 picks.

The National Soccer Coaches Association of American hosted the draft for the third straight year.

The league begins its season April 9.

Forward Christen Press won the Hermann Trophy this year following her outstanding year with Stanford. The striker spoke to about her time in U-23 WNT camp and the next step in her young career

2011 WPS Draft
Baltimore, Maryland
January 14, 2011

Round 1
1. Western New York – Alex Morgan, F, California
2. Philadelphia – Sinead Farrelly, MF, Virginia
3. Washington – Meghan Klingenberg, MF, North Carolina (*via trade with Atlanta)
4. Washington – Christen Press, F, Stanford
5. Philadelphia – Lauren Fowlkes, F, Notre Dame
6. Boston Breakers – Keelin Winters, MF, Portland
7. Atlanta – Kylie Wright, MF, UCLA
8. Western New York – Elli Reed, D, Portland

Round 2
9. Philadelphia – Jennifer Stoltenberg, F, Oregon
10. Washington – Omolyn Davis, MF, George Mason
11. Philadelphia – Caitlin Farrell, D, Wake Forest
12. Boston – Whitney Palmer, F, Oklahoma

Round 3
13. Western New York – Rose Augustin, MF, Notre Dame
14. Atlanta – Meghan Lenczyk, F, Virginia
15. Philadelphia – Lauren Barnes, D, UCLA
16. Sky Blue FC – Alyssa Mautz, MF, Texas A&M
17. Washington – Amanda DaCosta, MF, Florida State
18. Philadelphia – Bianca D’Agostino, MF, Wake Forest
19. Boston – Katie Sheeleigh, F, Harvard

Round 4
20. Western New York – Ashleigh Bowers, GK, Niagara
21. Sky Blue FC – Lauren Alkek, D, Oklahoma
22. Washington – Katie Fraine, GK, Florida
23. Philadelphia – Teresa Rynier, MF, James Madison
24. Boston – Tanya Taylor, F, UC Irvine

Oct. 6, 2010: Alex Morgan Scores for the U.S. Women’s National Team

Enhanced by Zemanta

Click to add a comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Time limit is exhausted. Please reload the CAPTCHA.

ALL Sports

Denise J. Saul is the Founder/President of WSEN-Women's Sports & Entertainment Network.

More in ALL Sports

Rewind: The Women’s Sports Foundation’s 40th Annual Salute to Women in Sports

Denise J. SaulOctober 17, 2019

Women’s Rugby Super Series Preview

Rick WoelfelJune 30, 2019

Women’s Baseball World Cup Underway

Rick WoelfelAugust 23, 2018

JUNE: Celebrate the 45th Anniversary of Title IX

WSEN StaffJune 2, 2017

Lindsey Vonn Second In World Cup Finals Downhill

Jessica/WSENMarch 15, 2017

110th Millrose Games Wrap-Up

Denise J. SaulFebruary 12, 2017