VAL ACKERMAN (Contributor)

Ackerman was the WNBA‘s first president, guiding the league to a much-heralded launch in 1997 and overseeing the day-to-day operations for its first eight years. A USA Basketball board member since 1989, Ackerman was the driving force behind the Women’s Senior National Team that produced a 60-0 record and won the 1996 Olympics in Atlanta. In 2005, she became the first woman to serve as President of USA Basketball, which oversees the US Men’s and Women’s Olympic basketball programs. A four-year starter and two-time All-American at the University of
Virginia, Ackerman played in France for one year.

July 10, 2010 – The Women’s Basketball Hall of Fame announced its 13th group of inductees, the Class of 2011, on ESPN during “WNBA vs. USA Basketball: The Stars at the Sun Game” at the Mohegan Sun Arena in Uncasville, Conn. The six members of the Class of 2011 are: Val Ackerman (contributor), Ruthie Bolton (player), Vicky Bullett (player), Muffet McGraw (coach), Pearl Moore (player) and Lometa Odom (player).

The announcement marks the fourth time in the Hall of Fame’s 12-year history that the upcoming class of inductees has been announced during a WNBA event in July. Prior to making the announcement during the WNBA season, it had been tradition for the new inductees to be unveiled during the State Farm Tip-Off Classic each year in November. The Class of 2011 will be formally introduced to the world at the 2010 State Farm Tip-Off Classic. Details for the 2010 SFTOC and the 2011 WBHOF Induction will be announced at a later date.

With the addition of the Class of 2011, the list of individuals who have been recognized as Women’s Basketball Hall of Fame inductees will increase to 121.

The Women’s Basketball Hall of Fame’s Board of Directors serves as the selection committee in determining which individuals will be inducted each year. Voting is based on various factors, which may include moral character, integrity, sportsmanship, record of performance, ability, national or international recognition, and contributions to the game of women’s basketball.

In order to be considered for selection for induction, an individual must meet the following prerequisites:
Player:     Must be retired from the highest level of play for at least five years
Coach:     Must have coached the women’s game at least 20 years
Referee:    Must have officiated the women’s game at least 10 years
Contributor:    Must have significantly impacted the game of women’s basketball

Click here to view the full Class of 2011 Press Release.

Enhanced by Zemanta

Click to add a comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Time limit is exhausted. Please reload the CAPTCHA.


Denise J. Saul is the Founder/President of WSEN-Women's Sports & Entertainment Network.

More in Basketball

WNBA Draft 2020: NY Liberty Select Sabrina Ionescu With First Overall Pick

Denise J. SaulApril 18, 2020

The Washington Mystic Win First WNBA Championship

Denise J. SaulOctober 11, 2019

The ‘Flying Queens’ Inducted into The Naismith Memorial Basketball Hall of Fame

WSEN StaffSeptember 5, 2019

WNBA Legend Teresa Weatherspoon Inducted Into The Naismith Memorial Basketball Hall of Fame

Denise J. SaulSeptember 5, 2019

WNBA Legend Teresa Weatherspoon To Be Inducted Into The Basketball Hall of Fame

Denise J. SaulApril 7, 2019

Rutgers Women’s Basketball Head Coach C. Vivian Stringer Earns 1,000th Career Win

Denise J. SaulNovember 13, 2018