USA Basketball News

USA Basketball News

USA Basketball Women’s National Team To Tip-Off Training

Candice Dupree will join in on the USA National Team training camp, which tips-off tonight at 6:00 p.m.

Candice Dupree, Kayla Pedersen Added To Spring Rosters

April 11, 2010 • Hartford, Conn.

The 2010 USA Basketball Women’s National Team’s spring training roster has been bolstered by the addition of Candice Dupree (Phoenix Mercury), who was originally not available to attend the April 11-18 training camp; while 2010 All-Final Four selection and three-time USA Basketball gold medalist Kayla Pedersen (Stanford University) has been added to the USA Select Team roster, USA Basketball announced today.

Alana Beard (Washington Mystics), who was originally slated to attend, is injured and will not join the team in Connecticut.

The USA Basketball Women’s National Team will begin training Sunday night at 6:00 p.m. (all times EDT) at the University of Connecticut’s Gampel Pavilion; while the USA Select Team tips-off training at 10:00 a.m. on April 15 at Gampel Pavilion.

Led by University of Connecticut head coach Geno Auriemma, available members of the USA National Team will continue training at Gampel Pavilion with a 12:00 p.m. practice on April 12 and 10:00 a.m. practices April 13-14. Following a day off, the USA National Team will resume training on April 16 at 10:00 a.m. at Gampel Pavilion, and April 17 at 10:00 a.m. at the University of Hartford’s Chase Arena, with a 6:00 p.m. scrimmage between both teams scheduled April 16-17 at Chase Arena. The USA squads will close out their training camps with a final scrimmage on April 18 (location and time TBD).

The USA Select Team begins training on April 15 at 10:00 a.m. at Gampel Pavilion and will follow the USA National Team’s practices at 12:30 p.m. on April 16-17.

Kayla Pedersen (L-R) will join her USA World University Games teammate Jantel Lavender on the 2010 USA Select Team and will train against Maya Moore and the USA National Team.

Additional USA National Team members confirmed to attend the spring training camp are: Seimone Augustus (Minnesota Lynx), Swin Cash (Seattle Storm), Tina Charles (Connecticut Sun), Kara Lawson (Connecticut Sun), Angel McCoughtry (Atlanta Dream), Renee Montgomery (Connecticut Sun) and Maya Moore (University of Connecticut). USA National Team hopeful Jayne Appel (Stanford University) is injured, but will attend the camp in hopes of being added to the squad at a later date.

Pedersen joins the ten previously announced members of the 2010 USA Basketball Women’s Select Team, which will be coached by Auriemma and court coaches Debbie Ryan (Virginia) and Dawn Staley (South Carolina).

In addition to Pedersen, the USA Select Team includes: Kalana Greene (New York Liberty), Kelsey Griffin (Minnesota Lynx), Allison Hightower (Connecticut Sun), Jantel Lavender (Ohio State University), Jacinta Monroe (Washington Mystics), Nneka Ogwumike (Stanford University), Andrea Riley (Los Angeles Sparks), Danielle Robinson (University of Oklahoma), Jasmine Thomas (Duke University) and Monica Wright (Minnesota Lynx).

Assisting Auriemma through the 2010 FIBA World Championship are DePaul University head coach Doug Bruno and Los Angeles Sparks head coach Jennifer Gillom.

In the past dozen years, the highly successful USA Basketball Women’s National Team program, ranked No. 1 in the world by FIBA, has posted a 63-1 slate in major international competitions, winning four consecutive Olympic gold medals (1996, 2000, 2004, 2008), two FIBA World Championship gold medals (1998, 2002), one FIBA World Championship bronze medal (2006) and one FIBA Americas Championship gold medal (2007).

Reblog this post [with Zemanta]

Click to add a comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Time limit is exhausted. Please reload the CAPTCHA.



More in Basketball

WNBA Draft 2020: NY Liberty Select Sabrina Ionescu With First Overall Pick

Denise J. SaulApril 18, 2020

The Washington Mystic Win First WNBA Championship

Denise J. SaulOctober 11, 2019

The ‘Flying Queens’ Inducted into The Naismith Memorial Basketball Hall of Fame

WSEN StaffSeptember 5, 2019

WNBA Legend Teresa Weatherspoon Inducted Into The Naismith Memorial Basketball Hall of Fame

Denise J. SaulSeptember 5, 2019

WNBA Legend Teresa Weatherspoon To Be Inducted Into The Basketball Hall of Fame

Denise J. SaulApril 7, 2019

Rutgers Women’s Basketball Head Coach C. Vivian Stringer Earns 1,000th Career Win

Denise J. SaulNovember 13, 2018