The Minnesota Lynx Win Their 4th WNBA Title

The Minnesota Lynx Win Their 4th WNBA Title

Minnesota Lynx Capture 4th WNBA Title in Team History to Tie Houston Comets for Most WNBA Titles by a Single Franchise in League History 

WNBA Finals MVP Sylvia Fowles

The Minnesota Lynx won their fourth WNBA title in seven years (2011, 2013, 2015, 2017), winning a hard-fought game against the defending LA Sparks team 85-76 on Wednesday in front of a capacity crowd at Williams Arena.  Finals MVP Sylvia Fowles pulled down a WNBA-record 20 rebounds to go along with 17 points.

But it was Maya Moore’s runner with 26 seconds left in the fourth that squashed a Sparks comeback as the Lynx pushed their lead to 5 and essentially ending any hopes of LA tying the game.  Moore had 18 points and 10 rebounds and Lindsay Whalen had 17 points and eight assists.  Seimone Augustus added 14 points to help the Lynx move level with the Houston Comets for most titles in league history.

Minnesota completed its 19th WNBA season by winning three in a row (and five of its last six contests) to finish with the league’s best record for the fifth time in seven years. At 27-7, the Lynx registered their sixth 25-win campaign in the last seven years and became the first WNBA franchise to win 27+ games in a season four separate times. Minnesota now owns the league’s all-time marks for most wins in six (155), seven (182), eight (195), nine (209) and 10 (225) consecutive seasons.


Click to add a comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Time limit is exhausted. Please reload the CAPTCHA.


Denise J. Saul is the Founder/President of WSEN-Women's Sports & Entertainment Network.

More in WNBA

WNBA Draft 2020: NY Liberty Select Sabrina Ionescu With First Overall Pick

Denise J. SaulApril 18, 2020

The Washington Mystic Win First WNBA Championship

Denise J. SaulOctober 11, 2019

WNBA Legend Teresa Weatherspoon Inducted Into The Naismith Memorial Basketball Hall of Fame

Denise J. SaulSeptember 5, 2019

WNBA Legend Teresa Weatherspoon To Be Inducted Into The Basketball Hall of Fame

Denise J. SaulApril 7, 2019

Rebekkah Brunson has officially become the WNBA’s all-time leading rebounder

Denise J. SaulJuly 6, 2018

WNBA Invites Fans to “Take A Seat, Take A Stand” for Women and Girls During 2018 Season

Denise J. SaulMay 17, 2018