KPMG LPGA Championship Preview

KPMG LPGA Championship Preview

Danielle Kang, who hoisted the 2017 KPMG Trophy, will look to repeat in 2018.

For the second time in less than a month, the LPGA is preparing for a major championship. The occasion is the KPMG Women’s PGA Championship, which gets underway Thursday at Kemper Lakes Golf Club outside Chicago.

The tournament dates back to 1955 when it debuted as the LPGA Championship. In 2015 the PGA of America took over operation of the championship in partnership with the LPGA.

The purse increased substantially as a result; this year’s field will play for $3.65 million.
A strong case could be made the field in this championship is the strongest of any on the LPGA schedule.

World number-one Inbee Park, Ariya Jutanugarn and defending champion Danielle Kang head a lineup that includes every one of the top 100 players on the LPGA Official Money List. The field of 156 includes 29 players who have combined for 62 major-championship wins among them.

Ariya Jutanugarn

Jutanugarn is the likely pre-tournament favorite. The 22-year old claimed the U.S. Women’s Open title earlier this month, her ninth LPGA win and the second of this year.

Kang prevailed last year at Olympia Fields Country Club, also in suburban Chicago, when she birdied the 72nd hole to edge Brooke Henderson by one shot. It was Kang’s first LPGA win, making her the first American competitor to win this championship since Cristie Kerr in 2010.

Inbee Park

Inbee Park, who win this championship three times in succession from 2013-15, figures to be a threat. Park, who turns 30 on July 12, will be seeking her eighth major championship. She’s won 19 times on the LPGFA Tour, including the Bank of Hope Founders Cup in Phoenix earlier this year.

Park is one of 10 past champions in this event, a list that includes Laura Davies (1994, 1996); Shanshan Feng (2012); Henderson (2016); Juli Inkster (1999, 2000); Kang (2017); Kerr (2010); Anna Nordqvist (2009); Yani Tseng (2008, 2011); and Karrie Webb (2001).

This championship is also the last opportunity for players to qualify for the International Crown, which will be played in the Republic of Korea in October. The eight competing nations have already been determined. The hosts will be joined by the United States, Japan, England, Australia, Thailand, Sweden, and Chinese Taipei. The four players on each team will be determined by the world rankings following the conclusion of the championship.

Embed from Getty Images

Click to add a comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Time limit is exhausted. Please reload the CAPTCHA.


Rick spent more than 15 years in broadcasting before going into print journalism; covering a wide variety of sports during his career but derives his greatest satisfaction from writing about golf and golf history.

More in Golf

Angela Stanford Captures First Major Championship

Denise J. SaulSeptember 16, 2018

Golf’s Best Gathering for the U.S. Women’s Open

Rick WoelfelMay 27, 2018

Team USA Defend Solheim Cup

Denise J. SaulAugust 20, 2017

Park’s Women’s Open Win Solidifies Korean Dominance of Women’s Golf

Rick WoelfelJuly 18, 2017

GOLF: U.S. Women’s Open Preview

Rick WoelfelJuly 13, 2017

USGA: 72nd U.S. Women’s Open Championship

Denise J. SaulJuly 9, 2017