Track & Field

Joyciline Jepkosgei and Manuela Schär Win 2019 TCS New York City Marathon Titles

Joyciline Jepkosgei and Manuela Schär Win 2019 TCS New York City Marathon Titles

Jepkosgei wins in marathon debut and Schär completes a three-peat

New York City, November 3, 2019 ~ Joyciline Jepkosgei won in her marathon debut in the Women’s Open division at the TCS New York City Marathon on Sunday and Switzerland’s Manuela Schär captured her third consecutive title in the wheelchair division.

Jepkosgei recorded the second-fastest time ever in the women’s open’s division in New York City Marathon history, finishing in 2:22:38 in her marathon debut. The half-marathon world-record holder’s time was also the fastest ever by a woman making her New York City Marathon debut.

“My strategy I had planned was to finish the race strong,” Jepkosgei said. “But in the last kilometers, I saw that I was approaching the finish line and I was capable of winning.”

Four-time TCS New York City Marathon champion Mary Keitany of Kenya was second in 2:23:32, followed by Ethiopia’s Ruti Aga in 2:25:51, who was making her TCS New York City Marathon debut. Two-time U.S. Olympian Des Linden was the top American finisher, taking sixth in 2:26:46.


Manuela Schär of Switzerland won her third straight women’s wheelchair title at the New York City Marathon, giving her eight consecutive marathon major victories.

Schär’s win marked her ninth consecutive Abbott World Marathon Majors race victory and her time was the second-fastest ever in New York City Marathon history.

“I’m always trying to pull away and go for a fast time,” Schär said.  “It’s been incredible the last 12 months, and it’s still going on. It’s just — I don’t know. I’m speechless.”

Americans Tatyana McFadden and Susannah Scaroni took second and third, respectively, in 1:48:19 and 1:51:37.



The TCS New York City Marathon is part of the Abbott World Marathon Majors, a series made up of the world’s six largest and most renowned road races – the Tokyo, Boston, Virgin Money London, Bank of America Chicago, and TCS New York City Marathons. Points are allocated to the top five finishers in each race, with the top three men’s and women’s finishers in both the open and wheelchair divisions earning prize money.

Click to add a comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Time limit is exhausted. Please reload the CAPTCHA.

Track & Field

Denise J. Saul is the Founder/President of WSEN-Women's Sports & Entertainment Network.

More in Track & Field

Dalilah Muhammad Named World Female Athlete of the Year

Denise J. SaulNovember 23, 2019

DeAnna Price Makes Hammer History at World Championships

Denise J. SaulSeptember 29, 2019

U.S. Women Golden at the World Relays

Denise J. SaulMay 12, 2019

Olympic Gold Medalist Natasha Hastings Hosts Tea Time Gala in NYC

Denise J. SaulSeptember 27, 2018

Featured Athlete: Brittney Reese, World & Olympic Long Jump Champion

Rick WoelfelMarch 25, 2018

U.S. Women set 4×800 world record at Millrose Games

Denise J. SaulFebruary 4, 2018