Hall of Fame Class of 2010

Hall of Fame Class of 2010

Cynthia Cooper-Dyke Inducted into Naismith Memorial Basketball Hall of Fame

Monday, April 05, 2010 01:57 PM

Indianapolis, Indiana—Prairie View’s women’s basketball head Coach Cynthia Cooper-Dyke has added yet another accolade to her illustrious career as she will be inducted into the Naismith Memorial Basketball Hall of Fame.

The Naismith Memorial Hall of Fame announced a total of eight individuals and two teams that were named as the Enshrinement Class of 2010. Some of the inductees included names such as Jerry Buss, Prairie View’s own Cynthia Cooper-Dyke, Bob Hurley Sr., Karl Malone, and Scottie Pippen, along with two celebrated teams: the 1960 USA Men’s Olympic teams and the 1992 USA Basketball “Dream Team.”

Coach Cynthia Cooper-Dyke is being recognized as one of the greatest women’s basketball players to play the game of basketball as she accounted for many big time accomplishments on the collegiate level as well as the professional stage.

Spending her college career at the University of Southern California, where she made a name for herself by winning two NCAA Championships and participated in three Final Fours. At the professional stage as a member of the Houston Comets, she won four WNBA Championships and was named WNBA Finals MVP with each title.

Coach Cooper-Dyke was also named to three WNBA All-Star teams and was selected as WNBA regular season MVP twice. Cooper won an Olympic Gold Medal in 1988 and an Olympic Bronze Medal in 1992 to go along with two FIBA Women’s World Championship Gold Medals.

To be elected, finalists required 18 of 24 votes from the Honors Committee for election into the Naismith Memorial Basketball Hall of Fame. The Class of 2010 will be enshrined at the Springfield Symphony Hall on August 13, following a week of festivities in Springfield, Massachusetts to be staged August 7-13, 2010.

Ticket packages to the 2010 Enshrinement Ceremony and all Enshrinement Events are on sale now and available by calling the Hall of Fame at (413) 781-6500. Additional information on Enshrinement Week will be announced in the near future, and information will be available at

Story courtesy of

Reblog this post [with Zemanta]

Click to add a comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Time limit is exhausted. Please reload the CAPTCHA.


Denise J. Saul is the Founder/President of WSEN-Women's Sports & Entertainment Network.

More in Videos

Olympic Gold Medalist Sanya Richards-Ross Discusses Her New Books

Denise J. SaulJune 4, 2017

Team USA 1-3 after day one of women’s bobsled World Championships

Jessica/WSENFebruary 17, 2017

Live Stream of the 2017 NWSL College Draft

Denise J. SaulJanuary 10, 2017

Bethanie Mattek-Sands Earns WTA World No.1 Doubles Ranking

Denise J. SaulJanuary 7, 2017

Video Highlights: Lauren Davis Wins First WTA Title in Auckland

Denise J. SaulJanuary 7, 2017

Video Flashback: The Best of the Rio 2016 Olympics ~ U.S. Women Shine

Denise J. SaulJanuary 1, 2017