World Surfing League Honors Worlds Best Surfers

World Surfing League Honors Worlds Best Surfers


Tyler Wright – 2016 Women’s World Champion.
PHOTO: © WSL / Cestari

COOLANGATTA, Queensland/AUS (Sunday, March 12, 2017) – The world’s best surfers hit the red carpet for the 2017 World Surf League (WSL) Awards – the night that celebrates the achievements of the 2016 season, and officially opens the 2017 WSL Championship Tour year.

Accolades and awards were delivered to those who have contributed to the sport, including the Heat of the Year, Breakthrough Performers and, of course, the WSL Champions.

WSL Women’s Champion: Tyler Wright (AUS)

“Congratulations to all the winners this year,” Wright said during her acceptance speech. “I want to thank my tour family and the people I travel with. There is so much love in the surfing community and I am so lucky to be a part of it. Thank you to my family, and thank you to my mom. Thank you to the people who have raised me and supported me. Thank you to the people who have spent the time to notice and pay attention to the little things that are so easily looked over.”



Courtney Conlogue – 20216 Women’s CT Runner-up.
PHOTO: © WSL / Cestari

WSL Women’s Runner-Up: Courtney Conlogue (USA)


Heat of the Year: Courtney Conlogue (USA) / Sally Fitzgibbons (AUS) at Bells Beach.

Move of the Year: Johanne Defay (FRA).

Wave of the Year: Carissa Moore (HAW).

WSL Junior Champions: Ethan Ewing (AUS) and Macy Callaghan (AUS)
WSL Longboard Champions: Tory Gilkerson (USA)
WSL Big Wave Tour Champions: Paige Alms (HAW)

CT Breakthrough Performers: Tatiana Weston-Webb (HAW)
CT Rookies of the Year: Keely Andrew (AUS)

Click to add a comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Time limit is exhausted. Please reload the CAPTCHA.

More in Surfing

Courtney Conlogue Claims Back-To-Back Rip Curl Women’s Pro Bells – CT#3

Denise J. SaulApril 18, 2017

Sally Fitzgibbons Victorious At Margaret River Pro – CT#2

Denise J. SaulApril 9, 2017

Stephanie Gilmore Wins Roxy Pro Gold Coast – CT#1

Denise J. SaulMarch 19, 2017

SURFING: Roxy Pro Gold Coast, Stop No.1 on the Women’s Championship Tour

WSEN StaffMarch 13, 2017

SURFING: Johanne Defay Wins Fiji Women’s Pro

Denise J. SaulMay 31, 2016

Surfing: Courtney Conlogue claims victory at the Rip Curl Women’s Pro Bells Beach

Denise J. SaulApril 2, 2016