WNBA: The Phoenix Mercury Win Third WNBA Title

WNBA: The Phoenix Mercury Win Third WNBA Title

The Phoenix Mercury capped off a stelar WNBA season, winning their third championship. The Mercury swept away the hopes of the Chicago Sky in the best-of-five series. Winning game 3 on the road against a very determined Chicago team.

Diana Taurasi, finals MVP, in typical Diana Taurasi fashion led her team to a game 3 win by scoring 14 of her 24 points in the 4th quarter. The biggest shot being a jumper over Sky point guard Courtney Vandersloot with the game tied at 82 and 14 seconds left in the game, she was fouled and made the free throw to put the Mercury up for good. ”We have the best player in the world, Diana Taurasi,” Phoenix coach Sandy Brondello said. ”When you put the ball in her hands at crunch time, she makes it happen.”

Taurasi was the difference maker leading the Mercury to victory in Game 3 on Friday without star center Brittney Griner.

Click to add a comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Time limit is exhausted. Please reload the CAPTCHA.


Denise J. Saul is the Founder/President of WSEN-Women's Sports & Entertainment Network.

More in Featured

Claressa Shields Defends Women’s Super Middleweight Titles

Denise J. SaulJanuary 13, 2018

Bradie Tennell Wins U.S. Skating Title

Rick WoelfelJanuary 7, 2018

Erin Jackson Makes History in Long Track Speedskating

Jessica/WSENJanuary 6, 2018

Rebecca Lobo Inducted in the Basketball Hall of Fame

Denise J. SaulSeptember 9, 2017

Gwen Berry is a Woman on a Mission

Rick WoelfelAugust 2, 2017

Karen Chung Finding Her Way on the LPGA Tour

Rick WoelfelJuly 5, 2017