WNBA: Lynx Re-Sign Six-Time WNBA All-Star Taj McWilliams-Franklin

WNBA: Lynx Re-Sign Six-Time WNBA All-Star Taj McWilliams-Franklin

Minneapolis/St.Paul – The Minnesota Lynx today announced the re-signing of 13-year WNBA veteran Taj McWilliams-Franklin. Per team policy, terms of the deal were not disclosed.

“We are pleased to have Taj back with us for the 2012 season,” said Lynx Executive Vice President Roger Griffith. “She was a big part of our championship team, and will play a big role in our attempt to win back-to-back titles.”

A six-time WNBA All-Star, McWilliams-Franklin played a key role in Minnesota’s championship run last season, averaging 10.6 points, 5.3 rebounds and 3.3 assists in eight playoff games, including 8.3 points and 6.3 rebounds in the WNBA Finals vs. Atlanta. For the season, McWilliams-Franklin averaged 8.3 points, 6.0 rebounds and 2.4 assists in 34 games (33 starts).

“I’m excited to be back with the Lynx for the 2012 WNBA season.” McWilliams-Franklin said. “Last year was a great year. We all worked hard to achieve our goal of winning the championship. I’m looking forward to getting back with my teammates and Coach Reeve and the assistant coaches and doing it all over again.”

“Taj is the consummate pro and her value to our team is immeasurable,” Head coach Cheryl Reeve said. “Her return puts us in the best position to defend our title.”

McWilliams-Franklin has career-averages of 11.6 points, 7.0 rebounds and 2.0 assists in 407 career games over 13 seasons.

Enhanced by Zemanta

Click to add a comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Time limit is exhausted. Please reload the CAPTCHA.

More in WNBA

Maya Moore Named SportsWoman of the Year by Women’s Sports Foundation

Denise J. SaulOctober 18, 2017

WNBA 2017 Photos

Denise J. SaulOctober 8, 2017

The Minnesota Lynx Win Their 4th WNBA Title

Denise J. SaulOctober 5, 2017

Seattle’s Sue Bird Wins 2017 Kim Perrot Sportsmanship Award

Denise J. SaulSeptember 28, 2017

Allisha Gray Named WNBA Rookie of the Year

Denise J. SaulSeptember 19, 2017

Sylvia Fowles Named 2017 WNBA Most Valuable Player

Denise J. SaulSeptember 14, 2017