Where Are They Now



The Shock Sign Sheryl Swoopes

The Tulsa Shock signed four-time Women’s National Basketball Association Champion (WNBA), Sheryl Swoopes, welcoming her back to the WNBA after a two-year hiatus.

Swoopes is one of the most decorated players in the 15-year history of the WNBA. To go along with her four championships, Swoopes has been named the Most Valuable Player three times (2000, 2002, 2005) and Defensive Player of the Year on three occasions (2000, 2002, 2003).

Swoopes brings career averages of 15.8 points, 5.0 rebounds, 3.3 assists and 2.2 steals a game to the Tulsa Shock as well as a wealth of playoff experience.

“We are very happy to have this opportunity to work with Sheryl Swoopes,” General Manager and Head Coach Nolan Richardson said. “We believe that she’s bringing her knowledge of the game and competitiveness to our team and I’m really looking forward to working with her.”

click here for complete story & related articles

Swoopes In Good Company

Top Athletes Who Came Back After Retirement

After forced hiatus, Sheryl Swoopes set for WNBA return – USATODAY.com.

Sheryl Swoopes has won three Olympic Gold Medals and is a three-time WNBA MVP. Frequently referred to as the “female Michael Jordan,” and is the first women’s basketball player to have a Nike shoe named after her: the “Air Swoopes”.

Click to add a comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Time limit is exhausted. Please reload the CAPTCHA.

Where Are They Now

Denise J. Saul is the Founder/President of WSEN-Women's Sports & Entertainment Network.

More in Where Are They Now

Sheryl Swoopes, newest member of the Basketball Hall of Fame

Denise J. SaulSeptember 9, 2016

Legendary Point Guard Dawn Staley Inducted into the Basketball Hall of Fame

Denise J. SaulSeptember 9, 2013

VIDEO: 2013 Naismith Hall of Fame – Dawn Staley and Sylvia Hatchell

Denise J. SaulSeptember 9, 2013

WNBA: McWilliams-Franklin, Farris, Weatherspoon & Whitmore added to NY Liberty coaching staff

Denise J. SaulMarch 22, 2013

Dawn Staley & Sylvia Hatchell Headline the 12 Finalists for the Naismith Basketball Hall of Fame 2013 Election

Denise J. SaulFebruary 17, 2013

Congratulations to the All-American Red Heads the first Women’s basketball team inducted into the Naismith Basketball Hall of Fame

Denise J. SaulSeptember 7, 2012