UConn Women claim third straight title

UConn Women claim third straight title

CHAMPION!! (Photo courtesy of UConn via Facebook)

Geno Auriemma and his UConn Huskies are a perfect 10.

It was a rematch of last year’s national championship game and featured the same results — a UConn victory. This one was in doubt until the end, with UConn unable to pull away from the stubborn Irish team as potential history loomed.  Kaleena Mosqueda-Lewis and Moriah Jefferson each scored 15 points Tuesday night to lead the Huskies to a 63-53 victory over Notre Dame.

But it was senior Kaleena Mosqueda-Lewis’ five points — a 3-pointer followed by a jumper from top of the key — clinched the 2015 NCAA Division I Women’s Basketball Championship for the Connecticut Huskies. “Every senior who plays college basketball wants to win their last game in their career,” Auriemma said. “And I’m happy for K that she got to do that and for Kiah as well. And I’m glad that the buckets that K made down the stretch were kind of the difference in the game. That’s the way she’s supposed to go out. She made a big difference all year and throughout her career.”

It was UConn’s third straight title; Auriemma and the Huskies have won all 10 of their trips to the national championship game. As has become a tradition, his team carried Auriemma off the court after dumping confetti on his head.

Click to add a comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Time limit is exhausted. Please reload the CAPTCHA.


Denise J. Saul is the Founder/President of WSEN-Women's Sports & Entertainment Network.

More in Basketball

WNBA Draft 2020: NY Liberty Select Sabrina Ionescu With First Overall Pick

Denise J. SaulApril 18, 2020

The Washington Mystic Win First WNBA Championship

Denise J. SaulOctober 11, 2019

The ‘Flying Queens’ Inducted into The Naismith Memorial Basketball Hall of Fame

WSEN StaffSeptember 5, 2019

WNBA Legend Teresa Weatherspoon Inducted Into The Naismith Memorial Basketball Hall of Fame

Denise J. SaulSeptember 5, 2019

WNBA Legend Teresa Weatherspoon To Be Inducted Into The Basketball Hall of Fame

Denise J. SaulApril 7, 2019

Rutgers Women’s Basketball Head Coach C. Vivian Stringer Earns 1,000th Career Win

Denise J. SaulNovember 13, 2018