Spoon & Coop Lead Respective Teams into Tournament Battle

Spoon & Coop Lead Respective Teams into Tournament Battle
WNBA legends Teresa Weatherspoon, in her first full year as a head coach, and Cynthia Cooper-Dyke lead their #2 seeded teams into tournament battle seeking a conference title and a possible bid to the “Big Dance.”
Coach Cooper-Dyke’s Prairie View A&M Lady Panthers team is the two-time defending SWAC champions. They will begin postseason play today at noon  in the 2010 Farmers Insurance SWAC Championship Tournament held at CenturyTel Center in Shreveport/Bossier City, La.  After three consecutive seasons as the top seed, the Lady Panthers enter the SWAC Tournament as the No. 2 seed and will face Alabama State .  Prairie View swept the Lady Hornets this season and will look to go 3-0 against ASU in en route to defending its 2009 tournament title. After an impressive start during the first half of SWAC play, Coach Copper-Dyke’s team was hit hard by the injury bug and have dropped five of their last seven games. Wednesday’s meeting marks the first time since a 2008 first-round match-up that Prairie View will face Alabama State in postseason play. The Lady Panthers currently have a nine-game winning streak over ASU.
Coach Weatherspoon’s Lady Techsters team (20-8, 11-5 WAC) open up tourney play today against the #7 seed Utah State Aggies (13-16, 5-11 WAC) at 8:30pm EST in Reno, at the University of Nevada.
LA Tech is led by WAC Player of the year Shanavia Dowdell a 6-1 senior forward from Calera, Ala. (Calera HS).  Dowdell becomes the fifth player in WAC history to earn the award in back-to-back seasons. She led the WAC in scoring (17.9) and rebounding (12.4), and ranked second in field goal percentage (.520) and fifth in blocks (1.29). Dowdell also tallied a WAC-best 20 double-doubles, including 14 of 16 conference games, and was named WAC Player of the Week four times. With 974 career rebounds, Dowdell is tied for the all-time WAC record.  Dowdell became the fifth player in WAC history to repeat as WAC Player of the Year and was joined on the first team by Adrienne Johnson.  Both players were also named to the All-Defensive Team.

Click to add a comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Time limit is exhausted. Please reload the CAPTCHA.


Denise J. Saul is the Founder/President of WSEN-Women's Sports & Entertainment Network.

More in Basketball

WNBA Draft 2020: NY Liberty Select Sabrina Ionescu With First Overall Pick

Denise J. SaulApril 18, 2020

The Washington Mystic Win First WNBA Championship

Denise J. SaulOctober 11, 2019

The ‘Flying Queens’ Inducted into The Naismith Memorial Basketball Hall of Fame

WSEN StaffSeptember 5, 2019

WNBA Legend Teresa Weatherspoon Inducted Into The Naismith Memorial Basketball Hall of Fame

Denise J. SaulSeptember 5, 2019

WNBA Legend Teresa Weatherspoon To Be Inducted Into The Basketball Hall of Fame

Denise J. SaulApril 7, 2019

Rutgers Women’s Basketball Head Coach C. Vivian Stringer Earns 1,000th Career Win

Denise J. SaulNovember 13, 2018