Misty May- Treanor and Danielle Scott inducted into Volleyball Hall of Fame

Misty May- Treanor and Danielle Scott inducted into Volleyball Hall of Fame

HOLYOKE, Mass. (Oct 22, 2016) ~ Indoor volleyball player Danielle Scott and beach volleyball player Misty May- Treanor were inducted into the Volleyball Hall of Fame on Saturday, the culmination of two great careers.

Danielle Scott-Arruda is the only five-time U.S. Olympic Women’s Volleyball team player. She earned back-to-back silver medals in the 2008 Beijing Olympic Games and the 2012 London Olympic Games. Scott-Arruda, who retired with over 400 international roster appearances, played in her first Olympic Games at age 24 at the 1996 Atlanta Games, followed by the 2000 Sydney Games and the 2004 Athens Games. She earned Best Blocker at the 2002 FIVB World Championship as Team USA won the silver medal. Scott-Arruda paced the Americans to six FIVB World Grand Prix medals, including gold in 2001, 2010, 2011 and 2012, and bronze in 2003 and 2004. She was named most valuable player at the 2001 FIVB World Grand Prix, as well as Best Scorer and Best Blocker at the 2001 FIVB World Grand Prix. Scott-Arruda brought home silver from the 2011 FIVB World Cup, as well as bronze medals in the 2003 and 2007 editions. Prior to her international and national team careers, Scott-Arruda was a three-time American Volleyball Coaches Association All-American at Long Beach State University, including winning Player of the Year and NCAA title in 1993.

Misty May-Treanor, a four-time beach Olympian, partnered with Kerri Walsh Jennings on the beach to become the first players to win three consecutive Olympic Games beach volleyball gold medals in 2004, 2008 and 2012. She won three straight FIVB World Championships titles in 2003, 2005 and 2007, while narrowly missing a fourth title in 2011 as she came away with silver. May-Treanor was equally adept at offense and defense on the sand as she won the FIVB Offensive Player of the Year three times (2005, 2007, 2008) and FIVB Defensive Player of Year twice (2007, 2008). She won 112 titles in her domestic and international career that netted $2.1 million in earnings. May-Treanor was named FIVB Sportsperson of the Year in back-to-back years in 2007 and 2008. She partnered with Holly McPeak early in her career as they played in the 2000 Sydney Games. May-Treanor was an elite indoor player as well, having served as the starting setter on Long Beach State University’s undefeated NCAA Division I Women’s Volleyball Championship team before electing to play beach.

“The 2016 Volleyball Hall of Fame class represents five remarkable individuals who were among volleyball’s elite over a long period of time on the international stage,” said Doug Beal, co-chair of the International Volleyball Hall of Fame selection committee. “This induction class upholds the highest qualities of the game through its athletes and coaches, and what the next generation of athletes can look upon as true icons of the sport.”

Click to add a comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Time limit is exhausted. Please reload the CAPTCHA.


Denise J. Saul is the Founder/President of WSEN-Women's Sports & Entertainment Network.

More in Volleyball

Hochevar & Day Score Back-To-Back Manhattan Beach Championship

Denise J. SaulAugust 21, 2017

April Ross & Lauren Fendrick Capture 2017 FIVB Beach Volleyball World Championship Silver

Denise J. SaulAugust 6, 2017

Up-Close: Lauren Fendrick, Beach Volleyball

Denise J. SaulJune 16, 2017

April Ross & Lauren Fendrick Crowned AVP New York City Open Champions

Denise J. SaulJune 11, 2017

AVP Tour Stop #3 is NYC’s Hudson River Park

Denise J. SaulJune 2, 2017

Lauren Carlini Becomes the First Volleyball Player to Win Prestigious AAU Sullivan Award

Denise J. SaulApril 11, 2017