History Made!! Diana Taurasi Becomes The WNBA All-Time Leading Scorer

History Made!! Diana Taurasi Becomes The WNBA All-Time Leading Scorer

Phoenix Mercury guard Diana Taurasi became the WNBA’s all-time leading scorer surpassing Tina Thompson for the top-spot.

Taurasi entered the game against the Los Angeles Sparks needing just 14 points to set the new record, and she accomplished that feat in the first quarter on a driving layup.

Taurasi received the game ball from her head coach Sandy Brondello, and a standing ovation from the packed crowd that included LA Laker legend Kobe Bryant and Hall of Famer Cynthia Cooper who played with Tina Thompson on the Houston Comets.

Statement from WNBA legend Tina Thompson:
“Congratulations to Diana on becoming the WNBA’s all-time leading scorer. I am excited that it is Diana and it is my absolute pleasure to pass the torch on to her. She and I have shared so many amazing moments throughout our basketball careers, whether it was gold medals, championships or all-star games. Diana is one of the best players to ever play the game and definitely one of my favorites. She has done amazing things and I am so grateful that I’ve been able to share many of those with her. I am really excited for Diana and I think she is going to blow that record out of the water.”

WNBA President Lisa Borders on Diana Taurasi’s accomplishment:

“Diana Taurasi is one of the fiercest competitors to ever play the game of basketball.  During her 13 seasons with the Mercury, she has shown everyone the kind of heart, determination, and talent it takes to be a champion.  Congratulations on becoming the all-time leading scorer in WNBA history.”

Click to add a comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Time limit is exhausted. Please reload the CAPTCHA.


Denise J. Saul is the Founder/President of WSEN-Women's Sports & Entertainment Network.

More in WNBA

WNBA Draft 2020: NY Liberty Select Sabrina Ionescu With First Overall Pick

Denise J. SaulApril 18, 2020

The Washington Mystic Win First WNBA Championship

Denise J. SaulOctober 11, 2019

WNBA Legend Teresa Weatherspoon Inducted Into The Naismith Memorial Basketball Hall of Fame

Denise J. SaulSeptember 5, 2019

WNBA Legend Teresa Weatherspoon To Be Inducted Into The Basketball Hall of Fame

Denise J. SaulApril 7, 2019

Rebekkah Brunson has officially become the WNBA’s all-time leading rebounder

Denise J. SaulJuly 6, 2018

WNBA Invites Fans to “Take A Seat, Take A Stand” for Women and Girls During 2018 Season

Denise J. SaulMay 17, 2018