Girls High School Basketball

Gatorade Girls State Hoops Players Of the Year (By State)

Gatorade Girls State Hoops Players Of the Year (By State)


Dawnn Maye is Gatorade’s pick for player of the year in Florida.

Photo By: Glenn Nelson/ESPN HoopGirlz


03/11/10 – In its 25th anniversary year of honoring the nation’s best high school athletes, the Gatorade Company, in conjunction with ESPN RISE, announced its 2009-10 State Girls Basketball Players of the Year. The award recognizes not only athletic excellence, but also high standards of academic achievement and exemplary character demonstrated on and off the court. For more on the Player of the Year program, click here.

• Alabama: Kaneisha Horn, F, Ramsay (Birmingham, Ala.)

• Alaska: Keiahnna Engel, G, Dimond (Anchorage, Alaska)

• Arizona: Rebecca Woodberry, F, Tolleson (Tolleson, Ariz.)

• Arkansas: Morgan Hook, PG, Rogers, (Rogers, Ark.)

• California: Chelsea Gray, G, St. Mary’s (Stockton, Calif.): Read More

• Colorado: Quincey Noonan, G, Legacy (Broomfield, Colo.)

• Connecticut: Kastine Evans, G, Norwich Free Academy (Norwich, Conn.)

• Delaware: Betnijah Laney, F, Smyrna (Smyrna, Del.)

• District of Columbia: Nicola Zimmer, PG, St. John’s College (Washington, D.C.)

• Florida: Dawnn Maye, PG, Dillard (Ft. Lauderdale, Fla.): Read More

• Georgia: Kayla Lewis, G/F, Southwest DeKalb (Decatur, Ga.)

• Hawaii: Maiki Viela, G, Lahainaluna (Lahaina, Hawaii)

• Idaho: Katelyn Loper, G, Post Falls (Post Falls, Idaho)

• Illinois: Tricia Liston, G/F, Fenwick (Oak Park, Ill.)

• Indiana: Courtney Moses, G, Oak Hill (Converse, Ind.)

• Iowa: Kiah Stokes, C, Linn-Mar (Marion, Iowa)

• Kansas: Tiffany Bias, PG, Andover Central (Andover, Kan.)

• Kentucky: Sarah Beth Barnette, F, Lexington Christian Academy (Lexington, Ky.)

• Louisiana: Theresa Plaisance, C, Vandebilt Catholic (Houma, La.)

• Maine: Nicole Taylor, C, York (York, Maine)

• Maryland: Kelsey Wolfe, G, Seneca Valley (Germantown, Md.)

• Massachusetts: Lauren Battista, G/F, Oliver Ames (North Easton, Mass.)

• Michigan: Madison Williams, C, Detroit Country Day School (Beverly Hills, Mich.)

• Minnesota: Sari Noga, G, Parkers Prairie (Parkers Prairie, Minn.)

• Mississippi: Valencia McFarland, PG, Raymond (Raymond, Miss.)

• Missouri: Jazmin Hitchens, F, Incarnate Word Academy (St. Louis, Mo.)

• Montana: Lexie Nelson, G, Butte (Butte, Mont.)

• Nebraska: Jordan Hooper, F, Alliance (Alliance, Neb.)

• Nevada: Alexis Byrd, G, Centennial (Las Vegas, Nev.)

• New Hampshire: Tiffany Ruffin, PG, Winnacunnet (Hampton, N.H.)

• New Jersey: Haley Peters, F, Peddie School (Hightstown, N.J.)

• New Mexico: Kya DeGarmo, PG, Eldorado (Albuquerque, N.M.)

• New York: Bria Hartley, PG, North Babylon (North Babylon, N.Y.): Read More

• North Carolina: Cierra Burdick, G/F, Butler (Matthews, N.C.)

• North Dakota: Meghan Roehrich, G, Fargo South (Fargo, N.D.)

• Ohio: Amy Scullion, G/F, Salem (Salem, Ohio): Read More

• Oklahoma: Richa Jackson, G/F, Midwest City (Midwest City, Okla.)

• Oregon: Jen Reese, F, Clackamas (Clackamas, Ore.)

• Pennsylvania: Kayla McBride, G, Villa Maria Academy (Erie, Pa.)

• Rhode Island: Allie Jones, C, South Kingstown (Wakefield, R.I.)

• South Carolina: Kayla Jenerette, G, Travelers Rest (Travelers Rest, S.C.)

• South Dakota: Shaunteva Ashley, G, Roosevelt (Sioux Falls, S.D.)

• Tennessee: Taylor Hall, F, Morristown-Hamblen High School West (Morristown, Tenn.)

• Texas: Chiney Ogwumike, F, Cy-Fair (Cypress, Texas): Read More

• Utah: Lexi Eaton, G, Springville (Springville, Utah)

• Vermont: Allison Gannon, F, Champlain Valley Union (Hinesburg, Vt.)

• Virginia: Elizabeth Williams, C, Princess Anne (Virginia Beach, Va.)

• Washington: Mercedes Wetmore, PG, Auburn Riverside (Auburn, Wash.)

• West Virginia: Mariah Byard, G, North Marion (Farmington, W.Va.)

• Wisconsin: Nicole Griffin, C, Milwaukee Vincent (Milwaukee, Wis.)

• Wyoming: Jordan Kelley, PG, Campbell County (Gillette, Wyo.)

Click to add a comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Time limit is exhausted. Please reload the CAPTCHA.

Girls High School Basketball

Denise J. Saul is the Founder/President of WSEN-Women's Sports & Entertainment Network.

More in Girls High School Basketball

Megan Walker Named Gatorade National Girls Basketball Player of the Year

Denise J. SaulMarch 16, 2017

All-American Girls Roster Revealed for 16th Annual Jordan Brand Classic

WSEN StaffFebruary 23, 2017

Kim Mulkey, Teresa Weatherspoon, Muffett McGraw & Rebecca Lobo headline list of 2017 Naismith HOF candidates

Denise J. SaulDecember 23, 2016

Hartley Named NY Girls HS Player of the Year

Jessica/WSENApril 1, 2010

Top 100 HS Girls BB Recruits

Jessica/WSENApril 1, 2010

High School star will join her sister at Stanford

Jessica/WSENMarch 27, 2010