Winter Sports

Elena Meyers Taylor Wins Pilot Title in 2017 USA Bobsled National Push Championships

Elena Meyers Taylor Wins Pilot Title in 2017 USA Bobsled National Push Championships

CALGARY, Canada (July 28, 2017)- Elana Meyers Taylor (Douglasville, Ga.) was dominant, wining the pilot titles in the 2017 USA Bobsled National Push Championships in Calgary’s Ice House with the fastest times of the competition.

Meyers Taylor, a two-time Olympic medalist, topped Jamie Greubel Poser (Newtown, Pa.) and Katie Eberling (Palos Hills, Ill.) for the women’s pilot title. It was the ninth push title for Meyers Taylor, her sixth since becoming a driver. Meyers Taylor clocked powerful start times of 5.50 and 5.53 seconds to take the lead with a combined time of 11.03.

“It feels good to start another season with a win,” Meyers Taylor said. “As drivers, the main thing for us is to stay healthy and keep in mind that we have October to prepare for. Push championships gives us the chance to practice some things we need for competition, like mental resilience.”

Meyers Taylor still holds the pilot push record of 5.44, and her eight-year record from the brakes was just broken yesterday by newly crowned women’s push champion Aja Evans.

“A lot of brakemen posted personal records yesterday, which was really impressive since we’re coming off a long season,” Meyers Taylor said. “As good as we are, we know we can’t rest. We have to keep pushing because you don’t know what the world has coming for you.”

Eberling, who began driving during the 2014-2015 season, was runner-up with a combined time of 11.21 seconds after clocking runs of 5.59 and 5.62. Olympic bronze medalist Greubel Poser was third with a total time of 11.23 seconds after posting consistent runs of 5.61 and 5.62.

Women’s pilots
1. Elana Meyers Taylor 11.03 (5.50, 5.53);
2. Katie Eberling 11.21 (5.59, 5.62);
3. Jamie Greubel Poser 11.23 (5.61, 5.62);
4. Brittany Reinbolt 11.40 (5.68, 5.72);
5. Kristi Koplin 11.68 (5.80, 5.88);
6. Nicole Vogt 11.85 (5.91, 5.94);

Click to add a comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Time limit is exhausted. Please reload the CAPTCHA.

Winter Sports

Denise J. Saul is the Founder/President of WSEN-Women's Sports & Entertainment Network.

More in Winter Sports

Mikaela Shiffrin wins giant slalom crown, record-tying fourth World Cup crystal globe

Denise J. SaulMarch 17, 2019

Mikaela Shiffrin Win Historic Fourth Straight World Championships Slalom

Denise J. SaulFebruary 16, 2019

Lindsey Vonn medals in final race of her storied career

Denise J. SaulFebruary 10, 2019

Bonnie St. John, History Making Paralympian

Rick WoelfelApril 2, 2018

Elana Meyers Taylor & Lauren Gibbs Wins Olympic Silver in Bobsled

Denise J. SaulFebruary 21, 2018

Shiffrin Wins Giant Slalom Gold

Denise J. SaulFebruary 15, 2018