Lawrie Wins Second Straight Honda Award For Softball

Husky pitcher wrapped up UW career with 1,860 strikeouts.

Danielle Lawrie, a University of Washington senior and pitcher for the Canadian Olympic team at the 2008 Beijing Olympics, has won the 2010 Honda

Danielle Lawrie swept the major National Player of the Year awards in her sport in 2009 and 2010.

Sports Award in softball, designating her as the nation’s top collegiate female athlete in that sport. The honor, which Lawrie also received in 2009, was based on the results of national balloting among 1,000 NCAA member schools as part of the Collegiate Women Sports Awards program, now in its 34th year.

The Honda Sports Award is given annually to the top women athletes in 12 NCAA-sanctioned sports, along with automatic eligibility to become a “Top Three” finalist for Collegiate Woman Athlete of the Year. Lawrie was voted over three other senior nominees: Chelsea Bramlett of Mississippi State University, Megan Langenfeld of the UCLA and Jen Yee of Georgia Tech. The nominees in softball were selected by the National Fastpitch Coaches Association.

Noted Lawrie, “Without my teammates, winning the Honda Sports Award wouldn’t have been possible. I’m very proud of this honor, but mainly because of what it means for Washington softball. National honors like this award open opportunities for the program. They help get our name on the map and will help our program sustain a very high level for many years to come.”

A native of Langley, British Columbia, Lawrie led the Huskies this year to the quarterfinals of the NCAA Women’s College World Series, concluding her college career with a 40-5 2 record for the 2010 season. The Huskies ended the 2009-2010 season with a 50 -9 record, with the team’s 50 wins ranking as the second-best ever for a single season. Lawrie finished the season with a 1.11 ERA, 495 strikeouts, and 46 walks in 302.1 innings. She pitched four no-hitters, including three perfect games and 27 starts with double-digit strikeouts this year. She is just one of four pitchers to ever surpass 1,800 career strikeouts. Adept at the plate as well as at the pitcher’s mound, she also led her team with 15 home runs, 57 RBI and a slugging percentage of .609. She was named 2010 ASA/USA Softball Player of the Year (only the second athlete ever to win the award more than once), First Team All-Pacific Region, All-Pac-10 and repeat winner of Pac-10 Pitcher of the Year. In 2008 Lawrie competed in the Olympic Games in Beijing with the Canadian National Team, where they came in fourth.

Previously announced Honda Sports Award recipients include the University of Illinois’ Angela Bizzarri for cross country, Katie O’Donnell from the University of Maryland for field hockey, Whitney Engen from the University of North Carolina for soccer, Megan Hodge from Penn State University for volleyball, Julia Smit from Stanford University for swimming & diving, Maya Moore from the University of Connecticut for basketball, Susan Jackson from Louisiana State University for Gymnastics, Caroline Hedwall of Oklahoma State University for golf, Lisa Koll of Iowa State University for track & field, Caitlyn McFadden of the University of Maryland for lacrosse and Laura Vallverdu of the University of Miami. The Collegiate Woman Athlete of the Year will be determined by separate balloting involving all NCAA-member institutions. On June 21, 2010, the winner will receive the Honda-Broderick Cup at a ceremony in Los Angeles, at which the “Top Three” finalists are scheduled to attend.

American Honda Motor Co., Inc. has sponsored the Collegiate Women Sports Awards Program for 24 consecutive years. Honda has donated over $2 million in grants and scholarships to universities over the course of the program. See for more information.

Click to add a comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Time limit is exhausted. Please reload the CAPTCHA.


Denise J. Saul is the Founder/President of WSEN-Women's Sports & Entertainment Network.


Champs! Back-To-Back Titles For Oklahoma Softball Team

Denise J. SaulJune 6, 2017

Oklahoma Sooners wins Women’s College World Series

Denise J. SaulJune 8, 2016

Florida Gators win College Softball World Series

Denise J. SaulJune 3, 2014


Denise J. SaulJune 9, 2011


Denise J. SaulJuly 27, 2010


Denise J. SaulJuly 22, 2010